Vikings end softball season with accolades

Student-athletes from the St. Johns River State College softball team ended their regular season with notable honors. The Sun-Lakes Conference champions Vikings softball team are celebrating eight student-athletes named to the all-conference teams.

Sophomore center fielder/shortstop Kendall Catherwood was recognized as the Player of the Year. Catherwood set the program record for most hits in a season with 85, hit .457 with 25 walks, 50 RBIs, 15 doubles, 3 triples, 3 home runs, 35 stolen bases and had a .538 on base percentage.

Also making the first team are Jenny Bouthillier (.360, 34 RBIs, 10 doubles, two home runs), Caylee Elder (.364, 14 doubles, 8 home runs, 17 stolen bases, 7-2 pitching record, 2.22 ERA), Carolyn Lasater (11-3, 4 saves, 3.30 ERA), Olivia Hansen (.431, 21 RBIs), Alyssa Vallad (.439, 16 doubles, 17 home runs, 66 RBIs) and Princess Arredondo (.430, 22 home runs, 56 RBIs).

Making second team is pitcher Brooke Strickland (11-4, 3.24 ERA).

After winning the team’s first-ever Sun-Lakes Conference and FCSAA/NJCAA Region 8 Championship, softball head coach Joe Pound has been named FCSAA DII Coach of the Year. It was a record-setting year with a 44-14 overall record and a 26-4 conference record.

The team ended their season maintaining a cumulative 3.67 team GPA.

SJR State will head to the district tournament May 9-12 in Alabaster, Alabama, to play for a spot in the World Series held May 20-25 in Spartanburg, South Carolina.

Learn more about Vikings softball at

Softball team celebrates their Sun-Lakes Conference and FCSAA/NJCAA Region 8 Championship

The team won their first-ever Sun-Lakes Conference and FCSAA/NJCAA Region 8 Championship.